Ask RHOC: Pie

25 Apr

Do you have a question for us? Submit it here!

QUESTION: What are each of your favorite pies and why? -Alfredo

Jerilyn: My favorite pie…..I am a big fan of ricotta pie.  I usually only have it around Christmas time if my grandma feels like making it.  It sounds questionable but is incredibly delicious.

Kendal: I love apple pie, not because it’s an all-american pastry that symbolizes community and patriotism, baked fresh from Mom’s oven working toward the American dream, but because its freaking delicious. I like it a la mode – which is not American at all, it is French. When apple pie is served al a mode, it should be termed: apple pie with some cold creamy ice cream that adds 300+ more calories but its too good for me to care.

Hot apple pie, with spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, and tangy apples, paired with the creamy flavors of vanilla ice cream, is an unbeatable romance that should be appreciated.
Julie: This was a really hard choice, but I definitely have to go with pumpkin. There is nothing like delicious, spice-filled pumpkin pie in the fall around Thanksgiving time. Its interesting texture and flavor can not really be replicated with anything else. I can eat applies, cherries, or pecans, but I don’t usually find myself chowing down on a nice slice of pumpkin. The taste is a delight only found in pumpkin pie, which is why it is my favorite of all the pies.
Celia: I think I like making pies more than I like eating them. I love picking out the fruit (or cheese? or chocolate?) and mixing it all up with the secret ingredients. Making fun designs with the crust is the best part, though. The basket weave design is tough, but pretty impressive when you get it right!
But if I have to choose, my favorite is blueberry. I haven’t had it in forever, but I remember ordering blueberry pies for Thanksgiving. They were baked to a golden crisp, and the blueberries were the little tiny ones that are the perfect sweet and tartness. With some whipped cream and vanilla ice cream? There’s no beating it.

Leave a comment